About the Journal

The Saharan is a new interdisciplinary journal aimed at exploring the dynamic relationship between culture and development in Africa. Development is a multi-dimensional process focused to change the structures, attitudes, and institutions to accelerate economic growth, reduce inequality and eradicate absolute poverty. While cultural dimensions of a society play a nominal role to shape the development processes, those are frequently neglected due to various political and economic reasons. This journal seeks to revitalise applied cultural studies to answer the following questions: How cultural diversity affects what people do and want? How cultural factors interact with other variables of the development processes? And how culture itself is affected by various dynamics of development on the international scale?

The Saharan aims to fulfil the need for academic writing that meets a rigorous criteria of editorial filtering in terms of originality, vision, impact, structure and style. The reviewing process is overseen by the editors of the journal, and is subject to a strict qualitative assessment that meets the approval of the editorial board, and fulfils the submission guidelines. The editorial and advisory board are made up of high-ranking academics, scholars and specialised practitioners with a wealth of experience in academic work on Africa and elsewhere.

The Saharan seeks to engage outstanding authors, academics, artists and all other pertinent contributors to African dominion. Ultimately, the journal is committed to fostering a nonpartisan venue which challenges established views and perceptions of Africa whilst promoting flawless frameworks for representation and interpretation.


National Institute for African Studies (NIAS)


Dele Williams,


Andrej Sagaidak,


Yousef Al-Manasfi, 

Mazhar Chaudhry,



Dr Rajkumar Singh

Dr Jephias Gwamuri

Dr Beniamino Polimeni

Dr Mohammad Nurunnabi

Dr Jamila Rodrigues

Dr Derek Charles Catsam

Claire Wilby

Shaka Yesufu


Dr Lisa Jene

Dr. Ekiyie Nzante

Dr Marco Martins

Dr Sukirno DS

Dr Gérard C. ZOUNDJI

Linda Were

Tebogo Lefifi

Candess Kostopolous

Erik van der Zanden

Jhayla Walls

Geofrey Oduwo

Richard Douglas Kamara

Hari Hara Sudhan Ramaswamy

Nitesh Narnolia

Awuor Ponge

International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)

The Saharan (Print) – ISSN 2631-3456

The Saharan (Online) – ISSN 2631-3464

The Saharan files to download: